Where in the World was Stephen Harrison?

September 22, 2008

I thought about starting this entry with a really bad joke about flying around the world and how tired my arms have become, but I realized, it’s not really a joke. 

The part about my arms being tired may not be true, but I have been back and forth across the United States countless times and around the globe at least twice in gathering objects for my exhibition.

Overseas I’ve been to Paris, London, Barcelona, Moscow, St. Petersburg, the Ukraine and Monaco. In the states I’ve flown to Boston, New York, New Jersey, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Washington, D.C., Richmond, Virginia, San Francisco, Dallas, Nashville, Los Angeles, Seattle, Kansas City, New Orleans and Florida.

Actually looking at the list of places in writing makes me want to go get a cup of coffee, or something stronger.

You see for some of the objects in Artistic Luxury, I’m responsible for picking them up, taking them through airport security and bringing them, in one piece, to the Cleveland Museum of Art. Private, exclusive and elite lenders have entrusted me with their prize possessions; meaning I can focus on nothing else until that object is safely housed in the museum.

Check out my video blog on WKYC for a behind-the-scenes look at Artistic Luxury…I’m going to go get that cup of coffee.

Stephen

FYI:

  • Get free admission to Artistic Luxury by becoming a member of CMA.
  • Own your own piece of Artistic Luxury in print – Browse through five centuries of prints, including the Guilded Age, at the Fine Print Fair Saturday, Sept. 27 from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday, Sept. 28 from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Corporate College, I-271 and I-480, in Warrensville Heights.

Leave a Reply

